Not blogging enough #Journoprobs

Dear loyal followers,

Just kidding.

I can’t believe that I haven’t written anything in over three weeks, but I’ve just been so busy! Between school, work and my internship, I’ve barely had time to breathe. I am currently sitting at Panera Bread, working on a Driver Education online module (because I am an idiot)* so I figured, “What the hey. Let’s write something.”

*Kids, always pay attention to STOP signs.

(1) So my internship at the Orlando Business Journal is close to ending. I am sad because I loved being downtown and feeling like Sarah Jessica Parker in “Sex and the City” (for the record, I’ve never seen that show so I’m just speaking out of my butt). It was fun dressing up in business attire and learning business terminology. I am very thankful that I got this opportunity because it gave me the chance to explore a new territory.

Image

(2) I applied for an internship at the Orlando Sentinel and didn’t get it (the same day I found out I didn’t get it, I got the traffic ticket. Probably one of the worst days of my life). I’m not sure why, since I am the best thing since sliced bread. I was really bummed because I had previously spoken to the intern coordinator and he said that if I got an internship at the Orlando Business Journal, the probability of me being chosen for the Sentinel would be higher. But alas, I didn’t get it. Thankfully I have friends and family who shared words of encouragement and I decided not to let this bother me.

Image

(3) Today, I met with Christina Tineo of Feeding Children Everywhere and I am excited to announce that I got an internship with FCE for the spring semester as a social media/communications intern. FCE is an Orlando-based non-profit organization that… feeds children everywhere. Basically. They host events in which companies, schools, churches and other groups come together to package meals and those meals get sent around the world. I’ve always been drawn to non-profits so this is a great opportunity for me. Now, I can not only influence and inform people with my writing, but I will also be able to influence people with my actions.

(4) I applied for a summer 2013 internship at the Tampa Bay Times. It’s a paid internship, which is unheard of in journalism, from May until August. I’m crossing my fingers and praying that I get it. I applied last year but I had no experience. My resume is looking a little bit more professional these days so hopefully I get it. If not, they can expect another portfolio and cover letter from me next fall for a summer 2014 internship.

I promise I’ll get back in the swing of things and begin blogging again. I know my life isn’t the most exciting but I’m sure someone somewhere is probably itching to read another update of my “crazy” life. Now I have to get back to learning about my BAC and terrible driving habits.

Fun.

Update: 4 hours later and I can proudly say I got a 97% on my test. #safedriver #justkidding

Leave a Reply

