Fixing my resume and as I’m searching for tips, I stumble upon Koretzky’s blog once again (last year I found it when I was also looking for tips).

journoterrorist

No writing assignment strikes fear into the cold, calloused heart of a college journalist quite like the resume does. Yet no assignment is so shoddily reported and so clumsily written.

Every spring semester for nearly a decade, I’ve collected resumes from the staff at the student newspaper I advise – and I’ve taken them to local, state, and national media pros for a blistering critique. Every year, only a handful don’t suck.

Of course, the top reason for a crappy college resume is simply a lack of journalism experience. Too many j-school grads think they can land a media job with a diploma in one hand and some class assignments in the other. (For more on that, see 9 Mistakes that Crush a College Journalist’s Career.)

But even if your experience is impeccable, you can easily lose that first job you’d otherwise be destined for. Here’s why…



1. A…

View original post 1,758 more words

Leave a Reply

